#instant auto insurance
Instant Nevada Car Insurance Quote NV Auto Insurance
Finding the best Nevada car insurance policy can be difficult. It can be made somewhat easier with an instant auto insurance quote. Yet, there are still many considerations that must go into your purchase.
First you need to know the requirements for your insurance policy. Second you need to know about the insurance laws in Nevada. Third, you need to know what companies operate here. Fourth what are the average rates? Fifth and finally you need to know where and from whom to get a Nevada insurance quote.
The good news is that the answers to all this points can be found below.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements In Nevada
Nevada requires all drivers in the state to demonstrate financial responsibility when operating their car or other motorized vehicle. In almost all cases this means buying at least liability insurance. There are two rare exceptions and they are disused at the bottom of this section.
Assuming you fall within the range of 99% of drivers in the state, you ll need to buy at least the following amounts of liability coverage (known as 15/30/10):
- $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident;
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons on any one accident;
- $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
To put these numbers in perspective, they are among the lowest minimum liability insurance requirements of any state. Moreover, unlike several other states you are not required to buy Uninsured motorist coverage, Personal Injury Protection, or Medical Payment coverage. Nevertheless, all these types of coverage are encouraged along with much higher liability limits as well.
Motor Carriers (any person or business which transports people or property for hire) are required to carry higher liability insurance limits than those listed above. It is possible to self-insure if you and/your business own more than 10 vehicles in your name. Alternatively you may be able to get an operator s policy if you collect automobiles and own more of them than there are licensed drivers in your household.
Just keep in mind that no matter what insurance category you fall under, you are strongly advised to get more than just the basic coverage.
Nevada State Auto Insurance Laws
As mentioned above, you are required to demonstrate financial responsibility when operating your car. To lower the incidence of uninsured drivers, the state of Nevada has implemented Nevada LIVE (Liability Insurance Validation Electronically) which will come into full force on December 1, 2011. It validates the liability insurance coverage on every vehicle registered in Nevada on a continual basis.
As a result, failure to maintain proper legal insurance coverage now carries steep and escalating fines. Moreover there is no grace period when it comes to when fines begin to get issued.
Your first offense brings a minimum fine of $250, which can rise to $1,750 for a 3rd offense with the suspension of your driver s license for 30 days. Moreover, if you go without insurance for more than 90 days you will be required to file an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility for the next 3 years.
Assuming you don t let your insurance lapse you are still required to carry proof of insurance. Keep in mind that it must be carried in your car all the time and must be presented to any law enforcement officer upon request. Failure to do so could result in additional fees or fines.
Finally, you should know that Nevada operates under the fault principle. This means that your insurance covers you if you are responsible for an accident up to your policy limits. Should the costs of an accident go above these limits you are then personally responsible to make up the difference.
Nevada Car Insurance Companies
There are dozens if not hundreds of companies that offer private car insurance policies in the state. You can find all them from the Division of Insurance.
Yet, I m sure you only want to deal with the best and most reliable ones. Therefore you can pick one of two options. The first is to get quotes using our free quote form that can be found at either the top or bottom of this page.
Alternatively, you can pick from among the following insurance companies who are also members of the Insurance Information Institute.