Insurance

Nov 15 2017

Delaware Car Insurance Laws – Good2Go Insurance #freecredit #report


#inexpensive auto insurance
#

Delaware Car Insurance

Good2Go Auto Insurance wants you to get the Delaware car insurance coverage you need to get on the road fast. But before you buy insurance from Good2Go, it’s important to know Delaware’s minimum coverage auto insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.

Delaware Car Insurance Laws

In the state of Delaware, it is required that all registered vehicles have minimum auto liability insurance, according to the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles. All drivers must carry proof of insurance coverage at all times and maintain the following minimum levels of auto insurance coverage:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury or death to one person
  • $30,000 for bodily injury or death to more than one person
  • $10,000 for property damage per accident

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage helps protect you if you’re involved in an accident with a driver that doesn’t have any auto insurance or has too little. And while Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Coverage is not required by law in the state of Delaware, insurance companies may offer you this type of coverage as additional protection.

Delaware Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance

In the state of Delaware, it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle without minimum liability auto insurance, including rental cars. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Delaware include:

  • Maximum fine of $1,500 for the first offense
  • Maximum fine of $3,000 for a second offense
  • Six month suspension of driving privileges

If your auto insurance is canceled or lapses for any reason, then the Delaware DMV will receive a notice from your insurance provider. License plates must be surrendered to the Division prior to canceling insurance for any reason on vehicles with active registrations. Tags will be returned at no charge if proper insurance is provided and the registration has not expired.

Delaware DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties

It is illegal to drive, operate or control a motor vehicle, off-highway vehicle or moped while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The penalties for a DUI in the state of Delaware are severe and increase significantly based on your BAC (blood alcohol concentration). If you are caught behind the wheel with a BAC of 0.08% of higher, you may be arrested. The penalties for a BAC over 0.15% include:

  • License suspension for 2-3 years
  • Jail time for a minimum of 60 days

Delaware has a Zero Tolerance Law meaning it is illegal for someone under the age of 21 to drive or operate a motor vehicle or moped. Violators will have their driver’s license revoked for two months for a first offense and up to 12 months for any following offenses.

Delaware also has an “implied consent” law which means if you drive in Delaware and are suspected of DUI, you voluntarily agree to a chemical test to determine the degree of impairment. Failure to take the test carries a penalty of loss of license and/or driving privileges for one year for a first offense, 18 months for a 2nd offense and 24 months for the 3rd subsequent offense.

Delaware Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting while Driving Laws

The state of Delaware has banned the use of hand held cell phones, pagers, PDAs, blackberrys, laptops, games or portable computers while driving. Drivers are also not permitted to read, write or send text messages, email or use the Internet while operating a motor vehicle. Drivers caught using a hand-held device to speak or text will be fined $106 ($50 base fine with fees) for their first offense, with subsequent penalties reaching up to $350 with fees.

Delaware FR-19 Insurance Documents

An FR-19 insurance document certifies that a vehicle has been continuously insured since the verification date and that coverage is currently active. This FR-19 is required by drivers that are convicted of a serious violation, involved in a serious accident without insurance coverage, or failed to satisfy a judgment resulting from an accident. Good2Go will help you file the FR-19 by notifying the state in the event that your policy was cancelled or non-renewed for any reason. The FR-19 is usually in effect for 3 years.

Luckily for you, Good2Go Auto Insurance can file the FR-19 insurance documents to get you driving on the road legally as quickly as possible.

Cheap Car Insurance in Delaware

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Delaware, Good2Go Insurance may be able to help. We offer low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.

Get a free Delaware car insurance quote from Good2Go.com today and drive legal for less. You’ll be happy you did.



Written by admin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *