#auto insurance massachusetts
Best Affordable Auto Insurance in Massachusetts
Get Free Quotes and Find the Best Coverage
Massachusetts auto insurance is fairly straight forward in comparison to other states in the US. It is easy to find cheap car insurance if you’re willing to get multiple quotes and learn about the type of coverage you need, or could go without. Massachusetts law requires that every vehicle operating in in the state be insured to at least the basic level. The Registry of Motor Vehicles has the ability to revoke your vehicle registration if your car is driven without insurance coverage, leaving you carless. Luckily for the consumer, the basic policy is easy to understand and to afford. The first necessary coverage is bodily injury protection which covers you in the instance that a person sustains injuries or is killed by an accident you caused. Your policy must contain at least $20,000 for one person and $40,000 to cover two or more people injured or killed. The second required part of a policy is property liability damage in the amount of $5,000. This provides coverage for any property destroyed by an accident you are at fault for. With these basic requirements you know what your base policy can look like. However, there are many optional coverage plans which may or may not be beneficial to you. Finding the correct coverage can be a difficult task. Thankfully here at Best Auto we have done all the hard work to help you not only get free quotes, but find the best coverage and policy in Massachusetts. Below is all of the essential car insurance information you need, as well as the best auto insurance companies serving the Bay State.
Understanding Massachusetts’s Auto Insurance Requirements
Remember that the minimum requirement for car insurance differs from state to state and in order to get the best auto insurance quotes in Massachusetts one must understand what coverage they need. Massachusetts does require Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to be a part of your policy because it is a no-fault state. A no-fault state allows the person in an accident to receive their money regardless of proof that the accident was somebody’s fault. However, living in a no-fault state prevents the injured party from suing for further damages, and if the insurance money is not enough to cover medical expenses, the injured party must come up with the rest of the funds for treatment. In addition Massachusetts’ law requires that your policy contain coverage from uninsured motorists.
In insurance vernacular a state’s basic information on minimums for coverage are presented in the Body Injury Liability for 1 person/Body Injury Liability for all people/Property Liability Damage format. Body Injury liability refers the minimum dollar amount required for one person in an accident. Body Injury Liability for all people is the minimum amount required for coverage in an accident involving at least 1 driver and 1 passenger. Property Liability Damage refers to the minimum amount required for any accident in which property is damaged. In Massachusetts the minimums are 20/40/10. The numbers are in thousands of dollars.